The Benefits of Practicing Balanced Living

Practicing Balance

Practicing Balance

1.   Peace
2.   Calm
3.   Tranquility
4.   Patience
5.   Creativity
6.   Focus
7.   Completion
8.   Effective
9.   Enjoyment
10. Service
11.  Love……..

What do you do to create life balance?  Thought I’d share my response to this question from one of my Linkedin groups.

Scheduling is key for me.  I schedule everything on my calendar; whether it is for my job, my business, entertainment, spirtuality, family, health and more.  Calendaring helps me keep it all together.  If things need to be shifted; a look at the calendar let’s me see everything that is in place and I can make changes based upon priorities.  No muss, no fuss, it is all in writing.

It is important to remember to be gentle with myself; therefore, if everything doesn’t happen as planned – it is what it is.  No worries; all things happen in God’s time.  I make sure to take care of myself; how else can I take care of others if  I am out of synch.  Yoga, prayer, meditation, managing my health, power walking, swimming, reading, dancing, really good belly laughs, taking in a play or show; cherishing my alone time; and checking in once in a while with a friend are but some of the ways I maintain balance.

There are times when I am out of balance; especially when I am striving to achieve a goal; complete a project; build a business, etc.  However, I am learning to be cognizant of the amount of time spent out of balance; I allow myself a moment to breath and reconnect.  I can be really intense about work once I put my head down, and the toll it takes is not always healthy.  Therefore, taking pause breaks really helps – a couple of minutes to stop everything and really absorb and appreciate everything in my environment at that moment.  Mind dumps help as well; taking 30 minutes or so to write down everything that is in my head and quickly organizing/scheduling it.  This removes worry, tension, confusion, anxiety.

Allowing others to take care of me is another way to stay balanced.  Going to doctors (wellness and traditional); taking classes to work on my own self improvement; going to the nail spa, hair salon; getting accupuncture treatments; massage therapy; staying open to learning new things; practicing different types of yoga; being ever mindful of my own self talk and overruling ANTS (automative negative thoughts).

There are so many ways to remain in balance; I have my litany which I employ at different times. Most important is that I have a consistent practice.  Being balanced takes work; it is not something you achieve and sustain; it is a constant practice and you must be willing to put in the time and work.  Plan the work and work the plan.

Peace and Blessings,

About Stephanie D. Burroughs, PhD

Stephanie D. Burroughs, PhD is an inspirational speaker, trainer, author and business navigator. Stephanie D. Burroughs ignites the confidence, clarity and competency in minority, women, small and veteran business owners while helping to navigate them through the complexities of government and public procurement programs. Her audience is inspired, impacted and informed of PRECISELY what is required to achieve their goals. Stephanie D. Burroughs has been a minority, women, small and veteran business advocate and supplier diversity advocate for more than 35 years. Stephanie's candid real-world advice, inspiring, humorous and thought-provoking stories leave a lasting mental and emotional take action now impact.
This entry was posted in In the News, Inspiration, National Association Women Business Owners - CJ, National Women Business Council, NAWBO-CJ, Personal Development, Personal Growth, Small Business, Speaker, Training/Presentations, Women Business Enterprises, Women Business Owners, Women Professionals, Women's Empowerment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

