Stephanie’s Thoughts: Who Is In Your Sphere of Influence?

Yoga on Times SquareI’ve heard too many people say no one has believed in them. Those closest to them have shot down their dreams and goals.  I now realize how blessed I’ve been.  While I’ve had some serious back-stabbers, I realize they were put in place to teach me some lessons and oh yes, to grow me! I am however, very grateful and thankful that the majority of people in my sphere of influence have always been encouraging, supportive and uplifting.  Many have seen my greatness and potential even when I didn’t.  They have not expressed doubt about my ambitions,  vision,  and goals and have sought to help me along the way.  Hmm, perhaps it’s because I didn’t ask for permission.  I didn’t talk about my plans, vision, mission, goals to just anyone; in fact I was very particular with whom I shared them.  Instead I work my plan, stay focused on Who and Whose I am, know my purpose; and monitor my thoughts, speech and efforts to ensure that I am working in and on my purpose.

When I need strength or encouragement I go first to my Savior; yes, we have a running conversation throughout the day.  Why, because I know that in my own flesh, I’m a hot mess.  I look inward and see who I am and His power in me.  Yes, I do have to periodically smack myself back into play when I veer into the “funk”.  I dig into my GRIT Factor and get back on track.  I have my bag of Self-Inspiration Tools that keep me focused, present, joyful and living a heart-centered life.  Since I am my own worst critic, any negative feedback from others really has no merit and hits a brick wall.  Living the Law of Detachment (Deepak Chopra) makes it very easy for me to let go of people, places and things that are not beneficial or positive or serving the greater good. It requires constant monitoring and practice; belief and faith and continual personal growth.  That’s right it takes work; it doesn’t just happen.   Perhaps, that’s why I’ve been fortunate to have such great people in my sphere of influence.  Or perhaps it’s because I attract people with like spirits.

Who are you attracting?  If the people in your Sphere are not supportive, encouraging and uplifting; what are you doing to change that?  Where do you begin?  What Self-inspiration tools do you use.  That’s right – Self; I believe it all begins with the inner person; look to the strength already within you and commit to change and be at ease with not fitting into the mold.    Dare to be different!

These days I’m witnessing that the more I work on living a heart-centered life (not something that’s come easily to me by the way); the more wonders are being revealed to me.

This new life-phase is sometimes amazing, confusing, uncertain, exciting, daunting and more.  You too can choose to begin a new life phase whenever you decide to do so.  Don’t wait until you think you are ready – you will never be ready.  Yes, we have certain skills and knowledge acquired from our past walk; however, the new journey brings unknown challenges and opportunities into our path.  How can one be ready for that?  Just feel the fear and press forward anyway – that’s the Faith walk.

Oh well, that’s my “POV” for today.

Stephanie D. Burroughs
Inspirational Speaker | Business Trainer | Navigator

About Dr. Stephanie D. Burroughs

Dr. Stephanie D. Burroughs is an inspirational speaker, trainer, author and business navigator. Dr. Burroughs ignites the confidence, clarity and competency in minority, women, small and veteran business owners while helping to navigate them through the complexities of government and public procurement programs. Her audience is inspired, impacted and informed of PRECISELY what is required to achieve their goals. Dr. Stephanie D. Burroughs has been a minority, women, small and veteran business advocate and supplier diversity advocate for more than 35 years. Her candid real-world advice, inspiring, humorous and thought-provoking stories leave a lasting mental and emotional take action now impact.
This entry was posted in Business Development, Faith Based Organizations, In the News, Inspiration, Leadership, National Association Women Business Owners - CJ, National Women Business Council, NAWBO-CJ, Personal Development, Personal Growth, Small Business, Speaker, Training/Presentations, Uncategorized, Women Business Enterprises, Women Business Owners, Women Professionals, Women's Empowerment, Women's Empowerment Organizations, Women's Organizations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

