I’m Beginning to See the Light

seeing the lightDuring the months of December 2015 and January 2016 there appeared to be a slump in activity.  Business owners you know what I mean.  You’ve been putting in the time and action; however, there doesn’t appear to be any progress.  Appearances are deceiving.  We must continue to push through, do the work, and sometimes, get still.  It was a combination of both for me mainly because I recognize that my mind, body and spirit were calling for prayer, planning, organizing, and REST!  Late Fall and Winter are challenging seasons for me, I’m a hot weather woman.  In fact, I was told that Winter is the time of year that humans just like animals need to rest and rejuvenate (hibernate).  Now that doesn’t mean we stop working; however, if we listen to our bodies, we will know what works best for us.  I willed myself to continue to work and stay focused; however, I took down the intensity and reminded myself to stay faithful.  Years ago in training we were taught, it’s not our business to know the how; continue to do the work we know and allow God to take the reigns.   Always holding on to this thought I was reminded that the Word tells us the following:

Isaiah 40:31   but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Proverbs 3:5-6  Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

So what’s this all about Stephanie you may ask? What’s your point?  Well, much to my surprise several Speaker invitations began flowing to me in January and February.  Note: I haven’t yet begun to implement my “all out massive action” marketing plan.

  • On February 24, 2016 I’m moderating a program for the Morris County NAACP.
  • I just signed a contract this week to speak on March 10th for the NY/NJ Chapter of the National Sales Network. Pfizer is hosting the program at their World HQ in NY. Topic:My book – “Dating Your Business Prospect”.

There are other opportunities that I will share once they are finalized.  The work from not just the past two years since I returned full-time to my business; but apparently, what I’ve done over 30+ years is beginning to bear fruit.  The preparation, marketing, practice, staying on purpose, investment in myself and the business, constant intention and attention to God’s purpose for my life and practicing patience by waiting for the right opportunities to arrive is paying off.

Yes, you shall get weary; it’s part of the journey of growing a successful business over time.  Continue working and learning and activating the lessons until you attain your business goals. There will always be new goals; it’s the only way you grow.  It’s not when you get there but that you arrive at the destination.  Alas, I’ve heard it said the only way to lose is to quit!  Remember, Galations 6:9 -Let us not grow weary in well doing, for in due time we will reap a harvest, if we do not give up.

– Recovering perfectionist, procrastinator, control freak who works and plays with purpose and passion.
– A graduate of Rutgers University, Stephanie D. Burroughs is a yoga practitioner, business owner, spirit fueled, conscious living, purpose driven and intentional woman. Stephanie is married and lives in New Jersey.
Connect with me on:Linkedin, Facebook (with 2 FB pages), Google+, YouTube, Periscope, Blab, Instagram and WordPress.
Website:  www.stephaniespeaking.com

About Stephanie D. Burroughs, PhD

Stephanie D. Burroughs, PhD is an inspirational speaker, trainer, author and business navigator. Stephanie D. Burroughs ignites the confidence, clarity and competency in minority, women, small and veteran business owners while helping to navigate them through the complexities of government and public procurement programs. Her audience is inspired, impacted and informed of PRECISELY what is required to achieve their goals. Stephanie D. Burroughs has been a minority, women, small and veteran business advocate and supplier diversity advocate for more than 35 years. Stephanie's candid real-world advice, inspiring, humorous and thought-provoking stories leave a lasting mental and emotional take action now impact.
This entry was posted in Business Development, Faith Based Organizations, In the News, Inspiration, National Association Women Business Owners - CJ, National Women Business Council, NAWBO-CJ, Personal Development, Personal Growth, Professional Women in Construction, Small Business, Speaker, Training/Presentations, Uncategorized, Women Business Enterprises, Women Business Owners, Women Professionals, Women's Empowerment, Women's Empowerment Organizations, Women's Organizations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

